OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County
CATHY DARLING ALLEN

Shasta County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KAMMI FOOTE Invo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

May 11, 2015

The Honorable Luis Alejo State Capitol, Room 2111 Sacramento, CA 95814

AB 1504 (Alejo) -SUPPORT

Dear Assembly Member Alejo:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB 1504, which adds Monterey and Sacramento Counties to the pilot project for a city, county or district to conduct all-mail ballot elections if certain conditions are met. Because of the fiscal and operational impact elections have on counties, we are hopeful for successful pilots by the now expanded pool of four counties.

The future adoption of vote by mail for elections in all cases, based upon the success of these pilot counties, promises significant streamlining and cost reductions.

We appreciate your recognition of the challenges faced by counties in conducting elections and your willingness to work in exploring options to alleviate them.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee